ELO 2xCD: Eldorado & Xanadu.

Released: 1998
Produced by: Jeff Lynne / John Farrar (Xanadu b side)
Engineered by: Eldorado: Dick Plant / Mike Pela / Bill Bottrell. Xanadu: David J. Holman / Mack
Recorded in: Eldorado: De Lane Lea Studios, London / Wisselord Studios, Hilversum, Holland. Xanadu: Musicland Studios, Munich

Jeff Lynne: Guitar, Moog & vocals.
Bev Bevan: Drums & percussion.
Richard Tandy: Moog, guitar, backing vocals & piano.
Michael D´Albuquerque: Bass.
Hugh McDowell: Cello.
Mik Kaminski: Violin.
Mike Edwards: Cello.
Louis Clark: Orchestra and choral arrangements and conducting
Peter Ford-Robertson: Prologue spoken by.

This album was released as "A Symphony By The Electric Light Orchestra" and achieved a 16 place in the US and sold gold.

The single Can´t get it out of my head (Mar. 1975) will be the band's first Top 10 hit in the US as a 9th place, here, for the first time they used a 30-man string section.


Jeff Lynne: Lead vocals, backing vocals, electric guitars, acoustic guitars & synthheizers.
Bev Bevan: Drums & percussion Tympani.
Richard Tandy: Piano, syntheizers & all other keyboards.
Kelly Groucutt: Bass guitar & backing vocals.
Olivia Newton John: Vocal on Xanadu.

ELO is offered to write songs for the movie Xanadu and it achieves a 2 place in the UK and a 4 place in the US, whereas the film will be an economic disaster!.

The single I´m Alive (May. 1980) achieves a 20 place in the UK and (12 June 1980) a 16 place in the United States.

2 single release Xanadu (June 1980) will be the band's first and only single no. 1 in the UK, with Olivia Newton John as vocalist and (11 Oct. 1980), it achieves an 8 place in the United States.

3 single release All Over the world (Aug. 1980) achieves a 11 place in the UK and (4 Oct. 1980), a 13 place in the United States.

4 single release Don´t walk away (6 Dec. 1980) achieves a 21 place in the UK.

Xanadu wins Best movie track, Theme or Score at the annual Ivor Novello Awards lunch d. 19. may 1981.

Cover design by: Eldorado: John Kehe / John Williams. Xanadu: ?
Label: CD-Maximum
Country: Russia
Still sealed
Item: 623

1. Eldorado overture (Jeff Lynne) (2:12)
2. Can't get it out of my head (Jeff Lynne) (4:21)
3. Boy blue (Jeff Lynne) (5:18)
4. Laredo tornado (Jeff Lynne) (5:29)
5. Poor boy (the Greenwood) (Jeff Lynne) (2:57)
6. Mister Kingdom (Jeff Lynne) (5:50)
7. Nobody's child (Jeff Lynne) (3:40)
8. Illusions in G major (Jeff Lynne) (2:36)
9. Eldorado (Jeff Lynne) (5:20)
10. Eldorado finale (Jeff Lynne) (1:20)
11. Olivia Newton John : Magic (J.Farrar) (4:31)
12. Olivia Newton John & Cliff Richard : Suddenly (J.Farrar) (4:02)
13. Olivia Newton John & The Tubes : Dancin' (J.Farrar) (5:17)
14. Olivia Newton John : Suspended in time (J.Farrar) (3:55)
15. Olivia Newton John & Gene Kelly : Whenever you're away from me (J.Farrar) (4:22)
16. I'm alive (Jeff Lynne) (3:46)
17. The Fall (Jeff Lynne) (3:34)
18. Don't walk away (Jeff Lynne) (4:48)
19. All over the world (Jeff Lynne) (4:04)
20. Xanadu (Jeff Lynne) (3:28) (with Olivia Newton John on vocals)