Mike Hopkins, born 3. January 1946 is an UK guitar player.

Mike Hopkins guitar (joined Diplomats in 1964)

The Diplomats decided to carry on with replacements; singer Jim Onslow from Park Hill Road, Harbourne, and guitarist Mike Hopkins, both who had been members of Gerry Levene and The Avengers. Although the Diplomats continued to play bookings throughout the Midlands area, the effects from the loss of Denny Laine as frontman and driving force became ever more apparent and the group began to lose direction.

Mike Hopkins guitar (joined The Lemon Tree in 1968-69)

The Lemon Tree were one of a coterie of psychedelic pop groups who sprang up in Birmingham, England, in the mid- to late '60s. Like the Idle Race, the Nocturnes, and most of their Birmingham compatriots, their music was close in spirit to the Move, a cheerful, celebratory, and upbeat account of life in a world lit by a psychedelic glow. The group -- Mike Hopkins (guitar), Mick Taylor (vocals), Gary Wortley (organ), Derek Arnold (bass), and Keith Smart (drums) -- actually had a pretty good pedigree from the get-go; Hopkins was previously a member of Denny & the Diplomats with Denny Laine (in the latter's pre-Moody Blues days) and Keith Smart played with Danny King & the Mayfair Set, whence Roy Wood and Trevor Burton cut their teeth before forming the Move. The latter group wasn't too far in body or spirit from The Lemon Tree -- the quintet was signed by Parlophone Records in 1968 and made their debut with "William Chaulker's Time Machine" b/w "I Can Touch a Rainbow," the A-side of which was written by Ace Kefford, who had just exited the Move, and produced by Ace Kefford, Trevor Burton, and the Amen Corner's Andy Fairweather-Low. It failed to chart, and only Fairweather-Low was aboard for their second and final single, "It's So Nice to Come Home" b/w "Come on Girl," in 1969. After their breakup in 1969, Mike Hopkins moved on to the Idle Race while Keith Smart passed through the final lineup of the Uglys, who transformed themselves into The Balls and also played with Roy Wood's Wizzard and the '70s progressive rock outfit Mongrel before disappearing. "William Chaulker's Time Machine" has resurfaced on several '60s psychedelic compilations, including See for Miles Records' mid-'80s era Sixties Backbeat.

Mike Hopkins was in Idle Race from 1970 to 1972.

The other members of Idle Race were naturally disappointed with Jeff Lynne's decision to leave the band, but they decided to carry on with replacements Mike Hopkins, formerly of the Diplomats and The Lemon Tree, on guitar/vocals and Dave Walker (vocals) from The Redcaps on vocals & harmonica.
Idle Race continued to tour and release singles with their cover version of Mungo Jerry's 'In The Summertime' managing to reach Number 1 in the charts in Argentina!
A cover of Hotlegs' "Neanderthal Man" didn't fare as well.

Mike Hopkins guitar (joined Bandy Legs in 1974-77)

Bandy Legs dates back to as early as 1974 in Birmingham, West Midlands, United Kingdom. They signed to Jet Records in 1976 and supported Black Sabbath and AC/DC.  The Bandy Legs  changed their name to Quartz for their 1977 debut album, "Quartz". 
Derek Arnold - Bass Guitar (1974 - 1977)
Malcolm Cope - Drums (1974 - 1977)
Geoff Nicholls - Guitar, Keyboards (1974 - 1977)
Mike "Taffy" Taylor - Vocals (1974 - 1977)
Mick Hopkins - Guitar (1974 - 1977)

Mike Hopkins joined the heavy metal group Quartz.

Quartz dates back to as early as 1974 when they were known as Bandy Legs. They signed to Jet Records in 1976 and supported Black Sabbath and AC/DC. The band changed their name to Quartz for their 1977 debut album, "Quartz". The album was produced by Tony Iommi and Quartz toured with Black Sabbath to support this release.
Quartz toured heavily during this time, playing the Reading Festival three times (1976, 1977 and 1980) and touring in support of some of the larger hard rock bands of the time (Iron Maiden, Saxon, UFO and Rush).
Quartz released their second studio album, "Stand Up and Fight", in 1980 and their third, "Against All Odds", in 1983 before calling it quits. In 1979 Geoff Nicholls left to join Black Sabbath. He contributed keyboards and songwriting from 1980s "Heaven and Hell"l to 2004.
Quartz reformed in 2011 playing a reunion gig on 16 December 2011 at The Asylum in Birmingham, England. The line up consisted of Geoff Nicholls, Mike Hopkins, Derek Arnold, Malcolm Cope and vocalist David Garner.
Mick Hopkins - Guitar
Malcolm Cope - Drums
Mike "Taffy" Taylor - Vocals
Derek Arnold - Bass Guitar
Geoff Nicholls - Guitar, Keyboards
Geoff Bate - Vocals
Steve McLoughlin - Bass Guitar